Charger Forums banner
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
58 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey all,
I'm doing my valve seals for the first time on my 08 5.7 turbo charger. The vehicle has about 150 000kms on it. Despite being turbo charged, compression is really good in all cylinders, I've kept it under 5.5psi and kept the Rev limiter set conservatively. I've never done valve seals before on anything to be honest so bare with me.
It's burning a bit of oil so I'm just about to start on my seals, I'm thinking that is the culprit. My question is, while I'm in there, what else should I change out? I suppose I'll have to do the O-ring seal around the valve covers. As well as the seals on all the coil tubes? Anything else I should do while I'm in there?
I've done a bit of searching now on different forums and haven't really found much about this. Mind you, I'm not very tech savvy so pardon my ignorance if I missed some threads.
Thanks for any input ya'll have!

·
Registered
58 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
If the valve seals are bad you will get smoke on the start up.
How much oil are you using ?
I get smoke all the time. Start up, idle, wot, and out the pipe when it's sitting for long periods of time

·
Registered
2013 R/T
2,318 Posts
The v-cover gaskets are re-usable as stated so in the service manual. Its up to you. Look em over, if not flattened, still pliable, and no nicks or cuts.........?

Mine is a 2013. If it does not apply to an 08 maybe it will help others.

The passenger side is a real PITA at the rear bolts. I use a 18" long extension with a 3/8-1/4 adapter and 1/4-drive universal 8mm socket to make short work of the bolts.

Also note its easy to damage the gasket at that lower rear corner getting it over the rocker tube bolt. Forcing it on/off there during removal and installing will have you going back in for a leak. The engine sits angled back and that's the lowest point in the cover.

I have made several trips there and developed a work flow.