Charger Forums banner
1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
486 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Why would Dodge put a belt in rather then a chain.. Just curious.. about 10,000 km away from changing my belt.. Just wodering why a belt.. I owned a 2004 Suzuki Aero with a 4 banger..and it came with a chain..:knockout:

·
Banned
87 Posts
I'm no expert but sounds like you answered your own question.

·
Registered
486 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
That was the first 4 cylinder I owned that came with a chain.. Just trying to figure out why Dodge would put in a belt.. rather then a chain..:knockout:

·
Registered
105 Posts
Well, I am an expert - I work for a company that manufacturers a rather large majority of the chain based timing systems for OEM's.

The main reason they put belts in? Guess. Cost. A rubber belt is cheaper than a chain system, and there are other engine design parameters that can be eliminated with a belt.

HOWEVER, more and more OE's are going to chain based systems, since more and more of the engines are OHC. With a chain based system, there's no need for "free running clearance" between the valves/piston (needed in a belt engine, so that when the belt breaks, it doesn't destroy the engine) which makes for better performance.

·
Registered
486 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Well, I am an expert - I work for a company that manufacturers a rather large majority of the chain based timing systems for OEM's.

The main reason they put belts in? Guess. Cost. A rubber belt is cheaper than a chain system, and there are other engine design parameters that can be eliminated with a belt.

HOWEVER, more and more OE's are going to chain based systems, since more and more of the engines are OHC. With a chain based system, there's no need for "free running clearance" between the valves/piston (needed in a belt engine, so that when the belt breaks, it doesn't destroy the engine) which makes for better performance.
Thank you very very much....:nervous s

·
Registered