Charger Forums banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello there I am new to Mopar I just purchased a 2007 Charger SRT 8 fully loaded and love everybit of it. I have a question about my temp. I live in Houston so this might be why but. When I am at idle my temp gauge goes up to about 225 to 230. Does anyone elses run that warm or is this something i should have looked at.

·
Premium Member
116 Posts
Sometimes in traffic (Tampa, FL), mine will go up to about 220. That's with the A/C on. My fans cycle on and off a lot during these times. I haven't noticed any degradation in performance though...
Dave

PS Welcome! :) :) :)

·
Registered
18 Posts
Welcome, and here In St Pete - Right across the water from Dave, my car also sometimes runs a little high but I still do not notice a difference. AC is a must in FL and of course the car will lose/gain some horses with it on or off. :D
Sup Dave lets go to a meet in Old Town/ Orlando.

·
Registered
575 Posts
Hello there I am new to Mopar I just purchased a 2007 Charger SRT 8 fully loaded and love everybit of it. I have a question about my temp. I live in Houston so this might be why but. When I am at idle my temp gauge goes up to about 225 to 230. Does anyone elses run that warm or is this something i should have looked at.
That's actually not unusual, and normal for the stock car with the stock thermostat.

·
Registered
3,160 Posts
yea thats not too bad. if you want cooler temps check out noesp.com, they have a fan mod that'll keep the temp down along with a 180 degree thermostat.

·
Premium Member
20,935 Posts
As long as the needle on the temperature gauge does NOT go into the red, you are operating within allowable parameters.

·
Premium Member
116 Posts
Welcome, and here In St Pete - Right across the water from Dave, my car also sometimes runs a little high but I still do not notice a difference. AC is a must in FL and of course the car will lose/gain some horses with it on or off. :D