Charger Forums banner
1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi all. I looked for the answers I needed and couldn't find them so I am asking here as well as posting this at Diablesport.

I know about cars, but not enough about tuners.

I am a noob when it comes to the tuner but here is what I have. 07 Charger all stock except for the Mopar CAI.

Question #1: After installing the 91 CAI tune my fans run all the time. What settings should my fan settings be? Also should I install a 180 or 190 thermostat, and then what setting should I use.

Question #2: I live in Colorado at an elevation of approximately 5280-5800 feet. We only have octane rationgs of 85, 87, and 91 due to the altitude. I have been told 91 is the same as 93 at this altitude but I would actually like some real tech advice before I blow up my car.

Question #3: Since I do live at a higher altitude are there any other settings I should adjust to help compensate for the lack of air density since I read about everyone else lighting up the tires and mine barely squeak. Although I have definitely seen great results with the Predator.

Thanks for the help.

·
Registered
180 Posts
I'm more used to old cars, but no question the cylinder pressure at 5000+ ft asl will be tons lower then someone near sea level. I presonally wouldn't sweat running 91 on a 93 oct tune. I personally wouldn't be worried too much about it here in Calgary at 3500 ft asl either.

As far as the A/F ratio, the computer will adjust that just as it would on a hot vs. cold day. "old" school guys like me have to jet carbs to take all this into account.

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Mills,

Thanks for the reply. I didn't think it would be a problem but wanted a second opinion. As for the "old school" I hear ya. I have a 79 TA that I had to jet for this altitude., and I'm still tweaking that.

·
Registered
3,886 Posts
If they don't have 93 octane you can always run the 91 tune.

·
Registered