Charger Forums banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Premium Member
11,698 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So, I tried a little experiment today. This color is crazy, plum crazy to get the proper color. I'm a bit of a amateur camera buff, was about to step into some pro level equipment, but bought the PC instead.

Anyway, this color is nuts to capture, because ambient lighting does strange things to it. If our eyes get tricked, there's no way a camera is going to get it right.

Enough of the whining. I took these photos today when the sun was high, noonish. Would have preferred the early morning sun, but didn't get to it in time. All photos were sharpened 50% using Nikon Capture 4.4 and resized to 900 pixels wide. Nothing else done to the photos except #2 as explained.

First photo was taken using pure auto on the camera, including auto white balance.
2nd photo was taken with the gray card in the picture and using gray set point to modify the color
3rd photo was taken after pre setting WB using the home made gray card held up against the surface.
4th photo was taken after pre setting WB using the home made expo disk.

To my desktop calibrated monitor, #4 looks the closest to correct. To the laptop calibrated monitor, #1 looks closest.

Even on the first photo, you should be able to see color shifts as it goes across the fender.

Attachments

·
Registered
92 Posts
Try photographing it on a cloudy day. Colors will have more POP with less glare.

·
Premium Member
11,698 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·

·
Premium Member
11,698 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Try photographing it on a cloudy day. Colors will have more POP with less glare.
Funny thing, but on a cloudy day, the color turns less purple and more royal blue

·
Premium Member
11,698 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·
glad you have a sense of humor :grin: and didnt think i was rippin ya
It's too easy to get dragged into keyboard wars. I'll always assume I'm being ribbed in fun.