Charger Forums banner
1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
Registered
349 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
After having my Charger for about 6 weeks I realized that I don't have a factory alarm:cry: . I can only blame myself of course. I am new to Dodge ( i've always been a Chevy man) and all of my previous vehicles have had keyless entry with an alarm. I've never seen Chevy offer the keyless entry and alarm seperate. We'll as I've now realized....Dodge does. Not too big of a deal, but well now I know what my first mod will be:confused: . So now I ask for the assistance of my fellow members. Anybody know of an aftermarket alarm that can use the factory keyfob? I'm really not wanting another key accessory to go along with the Charger key. Thanks in advance guys/girls.

·
Registered
860 Posts
i bought a prestige alarm cost about 300 installed. I realized i didnt have a factory alarm either after i got my nav unit stolen from car. hope no one else makes the same mistake i did and just think that the keyless entry was also an alarm.

·
Registered
3,862 Posts
Does a factory alarm come as part of the EVIC package?

·
Registered
111 Posts
Same problem here, I just bought the car today, 2006 Charger SE, and I think I don't have an alarm system.

The main reason I thought I would have one is that my wife & I have had PT Cruisers since 02 and any PT with remote keyless entry has the factory alarm. The salesman, of course, had no idea.

I got out the owners manual when I got home and actually started reading it, (yes, I actually did!) and the language that they use and the diagrams of the instrument clusters of both the base (which I guess I got) cluster and the premium cluster, indicate that there IS an alarm system in there which will sound the horn and blink the lights, when activated.

The alarm indicator light, which is located below the gas gauge to the right, even blinks when the car is started, but there doesn't seem to be an alarm system to arm.