Charger Forums banner

1 - 2 of 2 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm looking to get some HIDs to replace my stock lights (high/low/fog) but I don't know which kits or bulb sizes I need.. Where would you guys recommend I get them? I'm a bit of a noob. I have a 2010 sxt awd if that helps any.

·
Registered
338 Posts
I'm looking to get some HIDs to replace my stock lights (high/low/fog) but I don't know which kits or bulb sizes I need.. Where would you guys recommend I get them? I'm a bit of a noob. I have a 2010 sxt awd if that helps any.
  • Stick to Digital canbus-type ballast and you'll save yourself a lot of trouble. You don't need to mess around with wire harnesses or cancelers. You can use cheap analog ballast for fogs if you wanted to save a little money.
  • Consider a headlamp upgrade before HIDs. Upgraded lamps could be a different bulb size than stock. Look at cars with factory HIDs; they all have projector lenses. Putting Hids in non-projectors looks ricey IMO. I went with Spyder headlamps with halos. Looks awesome! Check e-bay and find one you like. Warning: You'll need to remove the front bumper cover to upgrade headlamps. It's a big job, but not hard to do. Then would be a good time to upgrade the grill too. Much easier to do with the bumper off.
  • If you upgrade fogs, it will make them functional. It's worth it. Match fogs & headlights same color. Our 2010s use a 5202 bulb which is a dealer only bulb. You can modify a H16 bulb by trimming off the tabs.
  • HIDs take a few seconds to warm up and get bright. For that reason they don't work well as High beams. I still use halogen (SilverStars) for highs. I find I don't use highs nearly as much with lows and fogs.
  • Mount ballast as high as you can to avoid water. If HIDs stop working its almost always a wiring issue. Driver's side fog kept shorting out until I mounted it in front of airbox.