Charger Forums banner
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I just picked up my R/T which has the Road/Track Performance package. Will the Mopar CAI improve performance and MPG? I was told by the Sales guy there was no need for mods because the R&T package already has enhanced air intake and exhaust. You can't always believe what sales people say so I am wondering if a CAI and Exhaust would get me more performance?

I am new to mods but reading this site I have learned the best place to start is with a CAI and an Exhaust.

·
Premium Member
5,973 Posts
u might get a lil bit more hp outta the mopar cai i tink ppl buy it more for the good looks than performance

·
Registered
608 Posts
From what I hear AFE stage II make the best CAI also Long Headers will definately give you a boost. and when all thats Done That whole Predator thing will blow you away.

·
Registered
928 Posts
a CAI will give you a MINOR improvement and sound awesome. look to upgrade the headers and exhaust if you want real gains.

·
Registered
368 Posts
The salesperson was not bs'ing. The Road and Track package does give you a different intake and exhaust over the stock R/T. That contributes to the 10 HP gain over the stock R/T. I really didn't notice any performance gain by adding the aFe II intake(if it did, too little to notice). Just sounds better. As for the exhaust, even though the Road and Track exhaust supposedly flows better and does sound better than the stock R/T, it's still a little quiet for me. I'm sure that a good aftermarket exhaust will provide minimal gains over the stock system, but most will sound better than the stock Road and Track. Just beware of the drone some systems add if you don't like the drone(most times at highway cruising speed or at or around 1800-2200 rpms, or when the MDS kicks in). Enjoy your new ride!!

Ed

·
Registered
219 Posts