Charger Forums banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
432 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I was doing some internet pricing for lower rear end gears for my R/T and I was thinking about going for some where in the 3.50-3.70 range (current ones are 2.65). I am very new to this and my mechanic agreed to install them if I buy the stuff but I was wondering what all do I need to change out the gears. I think I remember seeing a full kit a while back that was around $2,000 but that came with the rear axle and everything. But if I only need to change out a few things than I may not need the whole kit. If anyone could provide some info I would greatly appreciate it because I am interested in doing this mod but I've been staying clear of it due to my lack of knowledge on what would need to be replaced and what would be ok to leave on. Also for what it is worth I am doing mainly city driving and sometimes on the weekends I'll do some highway driving (typically 60 MPH). I don't want anything too bad that will make it a nightmare if I want to get onto the interstate (sometimes I do some traveling in the Summer time). Also I will NOT be taking this car to the track or anything like that because it is my daily driver.

·
Registered
1,150 Posts
First of all, what you are referring to is called shorter gears, not lower. Let's not confuse a transmission with a differential. If all you want to change is your final drive then you can buy a ring and pinion kit from someone like Richmond. It's going to take someone with real experience to install it though, so be sure before you hand it over.

·
Registered
432 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
First of all, what you are referring to is called shorter gears, not lower. Let's not confuse a transmission with a differential. If all you want to change is your final drive then you can buy a ring and pinion kit from someone like Richmond. It's going to take someone with real experience to install it though, so be sure before you hand it over.