Charger Forums banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
2,583 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
My wife and I are moving to Idaho and I'm going to want to get some monster winter/all weather tires since we'll be in a very rural area and in snow country. I like the look of the Police steelies (and some off-road truck wheels that are similar) but I cannot seem to find something that matches our 5x115 lug pattern in a wider wheel of similar design.

I know the Charger is competent enough for winter (and light all-terrain duty), we did some light off roading in CO in my '16 R/T going to and from the cabin (didn't realize how off the pavement it was at first!) and town so I've got some basic experience on how well the Charger performs off pavement and in inclement weather--which is to say it performs excellently. It was quite impressive actually with my all-season Nittos.

I have some ancillary questions related to this.
  • Would a 17" or 18" wheel be preferable for this application? (aka more wire and less wheel vs my OEM 20's)
  • How much of a difference will the wheel size matter with the Police brakes? Gonna do that conversion as well.
  • What sort of offset should I be on the lookout for? I'd like wide and fat but not so much that it'll rub.
  • I'm assuming the speedo calculation won't be affected? I'm getting a tuner anyway not that this matters...

·
Registered
2,425 Posts
Wider tires aren’t better in snow. Narrow tires glide through snow better. Wide tires plow through snow which isn’t ideal.

·
Registered
686 Posts
He's right. Stay stock size on the tried and true winter tire offerings. Get some budget wheels you like. Police steels are ok and the lug nuts to hold the caps on are not cheap. But deals pop up occasionally.

·
Registered
2,583 Posts
Discussion Starter #4