Charger Forums banner
1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
45 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm a noob to this forum, but not to cars. I'm a cop in Alabama and have been given the privilege of turning an 07 Police Charger into a "show/concept" car. The budget isn't huge, but should get us going. One of the first things I wanted to do was a CAI.

I knew the reputation of K&N and purchased the Air Charger for my unit (that's what we call a CAR not the other thing). Though installation was easy, I was not thrilled with the fit. It rode just a little high and the weather-stripping on the top of the heat box made the hood not close flush with the left quarter panel. The fit at the bottom wasn't so hot either.

I then purchased an S&B. Not only was the tube slightly bigger, the airbox had an outlet that extended down into the factory hole into the wheel well. Seems to me this would help draw more cool air.

Long story, a little shorter: I think the S&B is better engineered for my application. Love the way it sounds...performance, mileage gains? Eh, who knows. No dyno close by and the city pays for gas!:D

BTW, Love the forum and it has already proved quite useful. I'll post some pictures as we get "full into" the project. It should be bitchin'.

·
Registered
3,160 Posts
hey! well first of all welcome to the forum! and second, thanks for giving us your opinion about the two cai's. i've never heard about the s&b before you mentioned it and i dont remember ever seeing a thread about it on here. could you post some pics of yours so i can get an idea for what it looks like? it sounds cool

·
Registered
5,147 Posts
Welcome from Tennessee! Looking forward to seeing some pics of the "unit". BTW where did you purchase the S&B/

·
Registered
3,168 Posts
get an afe stage 2.
everythign else is garbage.
btw. i love you cuz your a cop. just ask everybody here.. they know i love cops.

but on a more real note.