Charger Forums banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
183 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
well, I finally got a predator. I LOVE the lower torque management! it really lunges.
NOTE: car has 95K miles, STOCK thermostat and NO catch can. And Im a newbie to this whole thing :)

I installed the 91 CAI tune, and noticed I get alot of part throttle pinging, between 10-35 mph, when given a "blip" of gas at low RPM. Same 91 gas that was in it before, with no pinging. I used the datalogging feature and got these results:
run 1:
ACT: 120.4 degrees (variable between 116 and 176 degrees)
ECT: 210.4 degrees (variable between 205 and 212 degrees)

LT knock max 3.5 degrees
ST knock max 6 degrees (the reading was set at 6, so its probably higher).

Then I added 3% more fuel across the board and a can of octane booster, getting these results:

run 2:
ACT (air charge temp): 131.2 degrees (variable between 116 and 179 degrees)
ECT (engine coolant temp): 206.8 degrees (variable between 205 and 210 degrees)

LT knock max: 1.5 degrees
ST knock max: 6 degrees

Whats causing all this ST knock!?
I would be happy to send you guys the logs so can take a look. Any help is REALLY appreciated. Im going to get a 180 T-stat in a few days.

·
Premium Member
7,632 Posts
You really want to be looking for knock at WOT through a full gear (usually all of 2nd gear or all of 3rd gear if you have the space). The knock sensors are very sensitive and prone to hearing false knock, especially when the tranny shifts.

You're also into the temp range where the PCM is more likely to pull timing. Below about 190*F you're in good shape, above that there's timing being pulled.

·
Registered
183 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 · (Edited)
Thanks for the quick reply, I will do another log later tonight with a 2nd to 3rd pull.
a 180 Tstat is on to do list ASAP.

also, if they are reading false knock (possibly) whats with the audible pinging?

·
Premium Member
7,632 Posts