Charger Forums banner

1 - 20 of 38 Posts

·
Premium Member
2,452 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
As some of you are aware I'm new to the hemi life. So I need some advice and some helpful knowledge. I pulled off my hemi cover cause a friend of mine was generous and gave me his orange cover. When I did so I found this. Oil on the left side. Could this be a gasket leak? I haven't had any issues while driving or anything. ImageUploadedByAutoGuide1399743521.073528.jpg

Sent from AutoGuide.com App

·
Vendor
10,365 Posts
As some of you are aware I'm new to the hemi life. So I need some advice and some helpful knowledge. I pulled off my hemi cover cause a friend of mine was generous and gave me his orange cover. When I did so I found this. Oil on the left side. Could this be a gasket leak? I haven't had any issues while driving or anything. View attachment 126201

Looks like a PCV bleed out to under the cover. Remember I talk about liquid turning to vapor and then condensing back to liquid. This is what appears to be happening from that system. I would check for leaks there.

Not a bad thing based on the picture.;)

Regards,
Brian
BND Automotive LLC:driving:
440-821-9040
www.bndautomotive.com

·
Registered
635 Posts
Looks like a PCV bleed out to under the cover. Remember I talk about liquid turning to vapor and then condensing back to liquid. This is what appears to be happening from that system. I would check for leaks there.

Not a bad thing based on the picture.;)

Regards,
Brian
I think its the PCV bleeding vaporized oil. Brian, do you think that the "oil catch can" could help to avoid this problem?? In my opinion, I've never seen this problem in my car maybe because I installed the oil catch can...

·
Premium Member
17,450 Posts