Charger Forums banner

1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm a Firefighter/EMT and I am looking to install flashing headlights (wig-wag) in the high-beams of my 2009 Charger SXT. It's civilian, no police options.

I have had ZERO luck with ground side switched flashing units (I'm on #3 now with no luck) and am thinking it can't be done in this car. I am very proficient in automotive electronics and have done this in other cars with no problem, but I'm totally stumped. I can get the lights to flash, but the high-beam override doesn't turn OFF the wigwag to allow the brights to work, and the other one the wigwag wouldn't work unless I had the high beams on, and then I could only get one side to flash, and the other side wouldn't light....

Anyone have any suggestions?

Before anyone goes off on the "you shouldn't do it/you'll get your car impounded/it's illegal" discussion... it's not, I have a license, a permit, and it's legal in Illinois. I just need technical support, please.

·
Registered
1,006 Posts
Best bet

I understand your frustration, but the computer controls all of the lighting and aftermarket flasher units just don't work. Only the Chargers with police wiring and the specific flasher unit will work without butchering everything. Your best best is to go the LED insert route. I understand that it's not ideal, but you will have unlimited flash patterns practically and much less headache to deal with. Just a friendly suggestion.

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Thanks...

Awesome work, Dodge, on making another vehicle that is difficult to modify for after market use... I want my Impala back.

Thank you for the reply... I had just seen other civilian Chargers on youtube, that had non-factory flashers, but none of them had the part listed or anything so I wasn't sure how tough it was or if I was missing something...

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #5