Charger Forums banner

Griots 3 in 1 ceramic wax

11K views 24 replies 10 participants last post by  mrminux 
#1 ·
After watching some internet videos on the longevity of ceramic coatings, I decided to give Griots 3 in 1 Ceramic Wax a try.
I was wondering about the flat black portions of the car, as most waxes will leave a white film. I tried a bit on the underside of the spoiler(the part that overlaps the trunk) and there was no white residue.
I then applied two coats separated by 24 hours, and the results are fantastic.

The hydrophobic properties are decent enough to easily bead the water off.

See less See more
#2 ·
Interesting.
I have no experience with Ceramic based protection - but I wonder why the beading is not as tight as traditional waxes?

When I used to use Meguiar's / Mothers / other carnauba based waxes, the surface tension was amazing and these uniform drops would just gather and pool away once I started driving.

Only drawback was that the protection didnt last more than 2 weeks

Do you find that it has a tendency to pool and sheet off or just bead more?

#3 ·
That is a pretty nice shine there. Finding a good wax/sealant that doesn't leave white residue on flat black decals/plastic or on black rubber is always worth sharing with the group! :)

Best,

Reactions: Karl_1052
#10 ·
I've never understood the beading. Isn't the point of a coating to repel water? I mean, like when it rains, you don't run out and dry your vehicle off (well, most of us don't).

If those beads sit there, they act like little magnifying glasses in the sun and actually damage the paint.

The point of a good hydrophobic coating, such as ceramic (or whatever) is to make the water sheet off leaving very few droplets behind, so they DON'T damage the paint (or the sacrificial layer of wax, etc).

#17 ·