Charger Forums banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am really happy to be joining the dodge community. Could use some help: The piano black SRT badge on my 2016 Dodge charger is scratched severely from a bad cleaning. The same thing is present on the wheels. I tried using a 3 inch RO with complete compound and orange pad from griots to no effect. I'm not sure if I need to use a different product. Any advice on the process? I am an amateur and really hoping to get this fixed. Thank you!

Car Grille Motor vehicle Vehicle Automotive lighting

Wheel Eye Automotive tire Automotive lighting Motor vehicle

·
Registered
4,265 Posts
It looks like clearcoat scratches to me.

If it really bothers you - take them out - sand them ever so lightly and then spray some clearcoat...it should make it smooth again (just make sure you do it in a clean area as Clearcoat can attract dust and you could end up with a lot of fish eyes).

·
Registered
3,127 Posts
Someone use a green scrubby kitchen sponge or a Brillo pad??

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Yes. I am ashamed. Prior owner had drawn on the black badges with silver sharpie. The car has the black top package with all black badging and trim. Wanted to remove the sharpie so put some WD-40 on a sponge and caused this damage.

·
Registered
3,127 Posts
Ask me how I recognized those scratches.

I would say the best option is to replace the badge. As for the wheels, is it the whole wheel or simply the Dodge slash marks on the center caps? If so, I'd just buy new center caps.