Charger Forums banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
17 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Unfortunately, I live in the sh1thole that is Brooklyn, NY... to make a long story short, I parked my car on the side of a mall and ran into pathmark for a loaf of bread (@ like 12:30)... come out and my whole passenger side window is busted up... my 80gb ipod was stolen (i had it stashed away, don't know what their initial motivation was to break in)

I called my dad (I'm 21, this is my first car... just got it on Sept. 8th) and he said to just come home and worry about it 2morrow...

But I'm a college student, and funds are kinda low... just wondering if any1 had any idea how much a DODGE DEALER would charge me to replace the passenger side window... how much would a local repair shop charge (estimate?)... Would I be able to buy the window from Dodge and have a local repair shop install it (to save money)?

Thanks in advance...

P.S.- Don't ever move to Brooklyn. I'm leaving as soon as I finish college!!!

·
Premium Member
607 Posts
Hey Jon. File a Police Report. That's what insurance is for. Good luck..................................................

·
Registered
3,126 Posts
I agree with Tee, thats what your paying insurance for, they'll pay to replace it.

·
Registered
334 Posts
Man, sorry to hear about the window...some people are just total scum bags! I guess you could contact the dealer and see how much the window and install would be and compare that with your insurance deductible to see which is cheaper. Hope all goes well!

·
Registered
1,904 Posts
I don't believe auto insurance covers and contents of your car - I think you have to resort to homeowners policies to cover that stuff.

At least in Michigan, I realize auto insurance varies a lot state by state.

·
Registered
338 Posts
Definately file a police report, cause you will need this to file a claim with the insurance. Now if your deduct. is high, then you might be on your own... Best of luck.

·
Registered