Charger Forums banner

1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
Registered
87 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Okay...I'm pretty new to the whole Dodge scene because as I stated before I've had mustangs for years and the one good thing about having mustangs is the abundance of mods and tuning capabilites out there to let you know exactly what you've got under the hood and how well the combo will perform. BUT, from everything I'm hearing here...seems that Dodge and it's affiliates are just making the whole tuning process next to impossible, right? I mean...I'd love to stick the viper V10 in the srt8 Charger and be done with it but unfortunately there are clearance issues...so it sounds like we're pretty much limited to the power the cars come with. So, keeping this in mind I have a few questions about something. For example, GS motorsports already has a supercharger kit for 6.1 hemi's... so how exactly have they tuned this thing to work with the car? And if you can't really adjust the computer then the car's must run just terrible with this kit. And basically we just stick this kit on the car and just HOPE that it doesn't blow it up? Surely they have to be doing SOME kind of tuning, right? Otherwise the car would just spit and sputter and run awful once you put the supercharger on it. How are some of you 5.7 guys adding these mods to you car without tuning it? Does the car run bad? I mean...while I do THINK 425 horses is nice, I am a speed junkie and WOULD need to be able to modify this car further...I'm used to 500 RW horsepower Mustangs and would never be able to settle for 400 RW. I need you guys to give me some pointers on how these mods are somewhat reliable because if I don't think they are and ARE going to last then, as much as I'd LOVE to have a Charger SRT8, I'll just have to go with a Shleby Cobra. I know those will get the speed. Help me out here guys!!! :)

·
Registered
1,855 Posts