Charger Forums banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
669 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have a U-pulley on my RT and I want to keep it. I also want to return my alternator to it's OEM rpms. Does anyone have a part# for a pulley I could put on my alternator that would do the job?

·
Registered
1,998 Posts
Are you having a problem with the alternator's output? Is it not charging properly?

·
Registered
669 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Well, yeah... but my circumstances are not typical. I'm a Police Officer and I use my Charger as a patrol car. As a Police Officer, I have available the ability to work "side-jobs", what we call "special duty". These jobs are performed in uniform and consist mainly of traffic control at construction sites (some of which are on the freeway and do not require that you stand outside of your car and actually flag traffic) and sometimes security at events or gatherings of some sort.

A few weeks ago I was working a job on the freeway where I had to park my car at the rear of the constructioin crew who was working on a guardrail. The job lasted about eight hours. For about six of those hours I was sitting in my car watching DVDs with the engine and AC running. I know, I know... sitting at idle for that long is bad... blah, blah, blah. I'm paying for this car and I'm well aware of the pitfalls of long periods at idle. Regardless, this is where my problem started.

The car was fine until I turned it off when I went to ask the crew how much longer they were going to be (they were going longer than scheduled). When I returned to my car it was dead, would not start, not even turn over.

A friend of mine happened to drive by and saw me with my hood up. He offered a jump. It took a while but we got her going. I had to drive her home in "limp mode".