Charger Forums banner

1 - 20 of 40 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
A new hood with a scoop (not set on style yet) was THE main thing I had planned to do ASAP to my new R/T. Got a recommendation on a local body shop and headed down there straightaway to discuss, and the guy raised an issue I hadn't considered (no surprise, as I'm a big-time noob).

He said that replacing the hood with anything other than the OEM SRT hood(which was over $2000 before install, so out of my price range) might cause the airbag to deploy incorrectly (delay a fraction, etc.). I can't see how it would be in his interest to not give an honest opinion on this as he'd obviously make money installing a hood for me, and now I'm very nervous. I don't want to do anything to compromise safety, but I was really pumped about getting the hood.

Does anyone know whether this a very long shot or a real possibility? Does type of hood matter? If I had a Shaker, would this be the same kind of issue as with fiberglass or CF?

Thanks guys.

·
Registered
1,400 Posts
Subscribed, as I've been researching for a while and not heard of this. Very interested.

·
Registered
8,949 Posts
An experienced mechanic may prove me wrong later, but that has to be one of the most ridiculous things I've ever heard of. Just my opinion.

·
Premium Member
8,810 Posts
An experienced mechanic may prove me wrong later, but that has to be one of the most ridiculous things I've ever heard of. Just my opinion.
I agree. Sounds hinky.

·
Registered
2,799 Posts
I smashed into a truck with my last car. Crushed the hood, threw my radiator over the top of my engine, totalled my car... but the airbags never deployed. Why? My front bumper went under the rear bumper of the truck. With that said, I don't see how a hood and air bag deployment can be related. There are no sensors in the hood that I'm aware of.

·
Premium Member
15,199 Posts