Charger Forums banner

1 - 20 of 30 Posts

·
Registered
79 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I pulled up to a stop light next to a Ford Fusion ST. Just the way the car looked I knew he was going to stomp on it. I decided to do the same of course. The road turned into one lane about 100 yards away. Light turns green and we both go. Lo and behold he's keeping right up with me. It took most of that hundred yards for me to get ahead and I'm still not sure he didn't let off. Now I'm fairly new to SRT8's but I really thought I would have left him in the dust. Am I assuming too much? There was a huge weight difference and I know the Fusion ST's can have a 200 HP V6. I'm just kind of disappointed I guess.

·
Premium Member
17,450 Posts
It's just simple physics. Based on you car's 1/4 times and that car's 1/4 mile times, I calculate that at 100 yards or so (330') you would be pulling him by about 28' (1-1/2 car lengths).

If you got ahead of him by something close to that, then you are running right where you should.

If you ran him for the full 1/4 mile you would have smoked him by more than a full second (about 9-10 car lengths).

300' isn't enough of a distance to really see how fast any stock car is. You have a 4200 lb car that really doesn't launch well compared to some others and they will grab you for the first few hundred feet before you reel them in and smoke them at the finish line.

Drag racing 101.

·
Registered
79 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Thanks for the quick response. I'm not a racer so I was taken by surprise. Leigh your explanation I feel better about the situation.

·
Registered
2,659 Posts
Ddaddy is right!

Those STs are pretty damn quick though, with a tune they're dirty. One damn near smoked me a while back...a story very similar to yours. I made a thread about the whole thing just like you also haha.

Sent from AutoGuide.com App

·
Registered
1,534 Posts