Charger Forums banner

1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have a 2011 Dodge Charger RT. Im still new to modding. I currently have a K&N cold air intake, a Hurst elite catback exhaust, also have have Itune Diablo 91 octane tune(running 91 octane fuel also). It runs fast. I just want to know what else I can do to bump up the speed to keep up or atleast meet with a 392. Also I updated my diablo tuner but I can only get 91 octane. The 93 octane isn't a option. Should I put back my default tune and reset the tuner to see if it will give me the option of 93? I was also thinking to get headers but idk if I should get shorties or long head. Freind a mine said I should run shorties. Only put long head tunes if im pushing 700 hp. Which im currently am not. Any advice?

·
Registered
2013 R/T
2,004 Posts
Forced induction, a good tuner and a dyno. No need for headers. 7psi max on stock internals and you will frustrate stock scats. If you want to be stealth get an Edelbrock E-Force or Magnuson TVS blower. If you want everyone in earshot to know you have FI and hear it every time you move the throttle go Whipple.

About 12k if a shop does it, 7k if you do it.

·
Registered
2,707 Posts
No need for headers
If you're going to increase the volume/flow of air into the engine (FI) you should increase the volume/flow of air out of the engine (balanced air pump in/out). I would install headers with FI rather than keep the restrictive factory exhaust manifolds. If you're keeping the FI boost pressure low, with stock internals, shorty tube headers will be an improvement over factory exhaust manifolds.

Factory cast iron exhaust manifold

Shorty tube headers

·
Registered
2013 R/T
2,004 Posts
Nope. OE are not as restricted as some believe, and w forced induction @7 area Headers cause more trouble than worth. Shorties do nothing for anyone otherwise.

·
Registered
2,707 Posts