Charger Forums banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Premium Member
39 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm upgrading some of the internal/external lights on my new 2014 SXT to LED. I'm upgrading the following only, and trying to figure out if these specific lights are on CANBUS or not (i.e. can I simply switch the lights to LED w/out any issues).

CANBUS LED bulb or some other CANBUS gadget required?
1) License plate = Done.
swapped to a Putco 280003W Type T White LED Stick Bulb - no problems that I can tell (no dash warnings and the LED bulb works). I'm assuming this Putco isn't a CANBUS LED.

2) Step/courtesy =

3) Front turn signals =

4) Front side marker =

5) Rear side marker =

6) Trunk cargo =

7) Glove box =

8) Dome/map lights =

9) Fog lights = (I've ordered PSX24W LED Bulb | 30W CREE Fog Light Bulbs).

If I need some CANBUS resistor or gadget, do you need one for each light location? You can probably guess I'm new to all this. Any help or pointers to any other thread that I may not have found is greatly appreciated.

·
Premium Member
2,472 Posts
On pretty much most cars, the only ones that will give you issues are the turn signals!

The reason is that if they are originally equipped with a halogen, it is looking for a certain "resistance". The LED's have lower resistance, so the car thinks the lights are out and you usually get a fast flash when you turn them on!

You will need to either:

(1) install a resistor with the bulb

or

(2) install an electronic flasher unit made for LED's!

All of the other lights you listed will be fine to replace with LED's!

I'm upgrading some of the internal/external lights on my new 2014 SXT to LED. I'm upgrading the following only, and trying to figure out if these specific lights are on CANBUS or not (i.e. can I simply switch the lights to LED w/out any issues).

CANBUS LED bulb or some other CANBUS gadget required?
1) License plate = Done.