Charger Forums banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Hey all. New here.

I'm looking at to get a cheap comfortable daily driver. I never really considered a Charger.. My dad has a 2016 Scat Pack and it's awesome. So I just came across the 2009 R/T AWD with 85k miles. What are some things to look out for? What's the reliability of these 100+k miles. My father has mentioned some have lifter tick issues, and of course because of the miles the suspension should be checked. I have some good automotive knowledge so hit me with everything you have.

PS. I currently have a 2014 Subaru BRZ that I'm turning into an AutoX build. 4.88 fd, e85, full bolt ons, I LOVE my BRZ but it's just not daily drivable anymore haha.

·
Registered
1,492 Posts
They're pretty good, the hurdles you will run into with the AWD: can't really modify it for more power, it sits up fairly high due to the AWD (and can't really lower it), wheel are very specific to the AWD and the suspension is very different from the RWD. If you're fine with it stock with some tuning and bolt ons, maybe a cam, you're golden.

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
They're pretty good, the hurdles you will run into with the AWD: can't really modify it for more power, it sits up fairly high due to the AWD (and can't really lower it), wheel are very specific to the AWD and the suspension is very different from the RWD. If you're fine with it stock with some tuning and bolt ons, maybe a cam, you're golden.
Awesome okay. Well that's good. I PLAN not to modify it that much but you know how that goes haha. As far as wheel/tire sizes, if I change them up a little, would I have issues with the differentials?

·
Registered
1,350 Posts
I had a 2010 AWD R/T, so basically the same car, traded it in at 96k miles with absolutely no issues.
Up until 2010, the AWD cars did sit 1" higher than non-awd models, so 2" higher than the 6.1 SRT8.