What is the IAT sensor & what does it do? - Dodge Charger Forums
V6 Specific Discussion This area is for discussion about V6 powered Dodge Chargers.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
#1 Old 06-25-2007, 06:09 PM
ssballow
Senior Member
 
ssballow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Rio Grande Valley, Tx
Posts: 576
(Thread Starter)
What is the IAT sensor & what does it do?

I know where it is on my intake, but someone was saying that they made a run with it out. what is it for if you can drive the car with it out?

3.5L SE :

17"SGT aluminum alloy wheels, spectre cai, esp delete, custom dual borla catback exhaust, tint (35% up front and as dark as they get in back!)
ssballow is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
#2 Old 06-25-2007, 06:16 PM
blairian
Super Moderator
 
blairian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Buda, Texas
Posts: 3,536
You can run without it, and a few have said that they saw gains (the highest I saw was 8 RWHP) but as far as exactly what it does you got me...

I BELIEVE it keeps track of the either the amount of air entering or the temperature and then accordingly changes the amount of fuel being put into the engine

2007 SuperBee #849
SRT Option Groups I, II, and III
Quote:
Originally Posted by SupremeG View Post
I've had a chance to ride in Blairian's SRT and that thing is a monster. I couldn't stop smiling the entire time I was in the SRT.
370 HP, 375 LB/FT, Air Temp 80*
blairian is offline  
#3 Old 06-25-2007, 06:21 PM
ssballow
Senior Member
 
ssballow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Rio Grande Valley, Tx
Posts: 576
(Thread Starter)
Quote:
Originally Posted by blairian View Post
You can run without it, and a few have said that they saw gains (the highest I saw was 8 RWHP) but as far as exactly what it does you got me...

I BELIEVE it keeps track of the either the amount of air entering or the temperature and then accordingly changes the amount of fuel being put into the engine
So, I can cut it out altogether?
ssballow is offline  
#4 Old 06-25-2007, 06:24 PM
blairian
Super Moderator
 
blairian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Buda, Texas
Posts: 3,536
Quote:
Originally Posted by ssballow View Post
So, I can cut it out altogether?
I wouldn't recommend cutting it out altogether...
I think IAT stands for Intake Air Temperature sensor
blairian is offline  
#5 Old 06-26-2007, 12:07 AM
firemnfrank
Senior Member
 
firemnfrank's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 274
The IAT sensor is there to detect the temp of the air entering the engine from the intake. The signal sent from the sensor tells the computer what timing and amount of fuel the engine needs according to the air temp itself.

It is NOT the only sensor that controls the fuel and timing, there are many others sensors, these also include the O2 sensors, MAP (manifold air pressure) sensor and many other sensors and parameters to ensure the engine works properly.

One trick is to place a resistor in line with the sensor to trick the engine to think it is colder outside, then it will change the fuel and timing, not by much and therefore the changes are not dramatic and our computers adapt them selves and readjust.

If you disconnect the sensor or add to much resistance you will end up with a code and check engine light, I have played with this and other sensors and the car ran best by leaving it as it came.

Hope this helps,
firemnfrank is offline  
#6 Old 06-26-2007, 12:12 AM
blairian
Super Moderator
 
blairian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Buda, Texas
Posts: 3,536
Quote:
Originally Posted by firemnfrank View Post
The IAT sensor is there to detect the temp of the air entering the engine from the intake. The signal sent from the sensor tells the computer what timing and amount of fuel the engine needs according to the air temp itself.

It is NOT the only sensor that controls the fuel and timing, there are many others sensors, these also include the O2 sensors, MAP (manifold air pressure) sensor and many other sensors and parameters to ensure the engine works properly.

One trick is to place a resistor in line with the sensor to trick the engine to think it is colder outside, then it will change the fuel and timing, not by much and therefore the changes are not dramatic and our computers adapt them selves and readjust.

If you disconnect the sensor or add to much resistance you will end up with a code and check engine light, I have played with this and other sensors and the car ran best by leaving it as it came.

Hope this helps,
Thanks Firemnfrank!
blairian is offline  
#7 Old 06-26-2007, 03:54 AM
wishing for hemi
Senior Member
 
wishing for hemi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: waldorf md
Posts: 1,770
even with the code will taking it out give you a noticable diff. in pwr or at least throttle response? throttle responce is my biggest complaint.
wishing for hemi is offline  
#8 Old 06-26-2007, 06:53 AM
DaILLestWun
Senior Member
 
DaILLestWun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Miami Lakes, Pembroke Pin
Posts: 425
I took it off when I dynoe'd and my HP jumped up 8hp. At the track I shaved about .2 off my time but I also deactivated the ESP via the stock button on the dash.

I wouldn't drive around with it out but a good thing to do would be to extend it as close to the filter as possible so that it gets the coolest air possible.

World's first tuned V6 LX!!
DaILLestWun is offline  
#9 Old 06-26-2007, 08:51 AM
GLHS837
Super Moderator
 
GLHS837's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Very Southern Maryland
Posts: 15,005
Quote:
Originally Posted by wishing for hemi View Post
even with the code will taking it out give you a noticable diff. in pwr or at least throttle response? throttle responce is my biggest complaint.
You should know that the car responds to how fast you press the throttle, not just how far. Faster press should get you a quicker response. Jab the throttle, and she'll lunge, slowly press down, she'll gently ease up to where you want.

"For a mechanic, you seem to do an excessive amount of thinking."
―C-3PO, to R2-D2
GLHS837 is offline  
#10 Old 06-26-2007, 09:54 AM
425hp
Senior Member
 
425hp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 1,551
I believe you will throw a code if you leave the IAT out. It codes for high or low, either shorted or dead. Some have resistors in the wiring and swear by it. I looked at one that had a resistor with my starscan and it was running at like 75 degrees. I think buying the extension and putting a resistor in it is the best approach. This way you can take the extension out when you wish and have normal operation, and put the extension in with the resistor for running at say the track.

C.

Silver 06 SRT-8

PPP 426ci.com Stroker, Track Warrior cam, half shafts, Mopar 392 Heads, Quaife LSD, Kooks LT headers, Dual Tbody intake, Corsa cat back, AFCO coilovers.
11.641 @ 116.805 (Best timeslip)
425hp is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  Dodge Charger Forums > Dodge Charger Discussion > V6 Specific Discussion

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Dodge Charger Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



User Tag List

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode


Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Where Is The Iat(intake Air Temperature) Sensor Located On 2007 Dodge Charger? BLACKKNIGHT Performance Discussion/Modifications 5 03-04-2007 10:18 AM
Does the 6.1L have a knock sensor? high888 Charger SRT-8 Discussion 15 01-11-2007 01:07 PM
Relocation of IAT Sensor nCHARGE Performance Discussion/Modifications 35 06-06-2006 06:48 PM
K&N CAI IAT Orientation RTaddiction Performance Discussion/Modifications 10 03-17-2006 12:48 PM
Well, how much is an IAT sensor? CoastalHemi Performance Discussion/Modifications 8 03-14-2006 02:50 PM

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome