Speaker wires/ Remote wire ?? - Dodge Charger Forums
Audio - Alarms - Navigation - Electronics Member discussions about Charger audio, alarm and navigation systems and other electronics take place here

 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
#1 Old 01-15-2007, 07:08 PM
xenophex
Member
 
xenophex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 68
Send a message via MSN to xenophex
(Thread Starter)
Speaker wires/ Remote wire ??

Hey Crew,
I'm in the middle of a amp install and was wondering if anyone had clues as to what the +/- wires were for use with a line converter. Also if there was a good wire to use for the remote on the AMP since the stock amp has a 12v constant on it.

Not finding much on the net about it right now.

Thanks,
Mark


07 Charger SRT8
04 GTO
xenophex is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
#2 Old 01-15-2007, 09:04 PM
xenophex
Member
 
xenophex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 68
Send a message via MSN to xenophex
(Thread Starter)
I ended up just tapping off the rear 6x9 speaker to the AMP. Used the fuse box Power Access 20AMP fuse on #18 for the remote to get things up and running.
Lights are diming a bit when the bass hits, but I had the doors open for a bout 3 hours while I was working + stereo tests. Hoping once the battery charges back up that it goes away.

Thanks,
Mark
xenophex is offline  
#3 Old 01-16-2007, 11:22 AM
xenophex
Member
 
xenophex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 68
Send a message via MSN to xenophex
(Thread Starter)
Starting to think using the 6x9 signal off the rear deck isn't a good idea. I'd imagine its not getting a full range signal.
I see 3 speaker pairs coming from the AMP on the rear deck. I assume its L and R in with a Mono Out. Anyone aware as to what the -/+ colors are?
xenophex is offline  
#4 Old 01-16-2007, 03:24 PM
xenophex
Member
 
xenophex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 68
Send a message via MSN to xenophex
(Thread Starter)
Ok, I went back and looked at what wires were going into the factory sub. There is actually 4, so that meant the 2 left were the input. From memory its a Green with black stripe and Grey with black stripe. Tapped into those and ran that to my AMP and wow what a difference.

Thinking I need to go to a Class D amplifier now. The Power Acoustik I'm running is dimming the lights when the bass hits.
xenophex is offline  
#5 Old 01-16-2007, 03:45 PM
Crazy Lou
Senior Member
 
Crazy Lou's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Scottsdale, AZ
Posts: 102
The lights are dimming because when the bass hits the amp is drawing power from your electrical system. It's literally sucking the current out of the wiring in your car.... which can be a bad thing for the cars electrical components... You need to install an electrolytic capacitor... 1/2 farad should be okay... but one farad is better.... The Cap acts like a little power reserve... so when your bass hits the amp drains current from the capacitor rather than your cars electrical system....

Here's a link for your reference....
http://www.crutchfield.com/S-298LhNo...U&search=farad

Bright Silver Metallic 06 SRT8 - Groups I & II. Blinker mod, AirRaid CAI w/ scoop, Elite22 center consol cover, Nav bezel & Kenwood DVD/NAV/Sirius/Bluetooth/iPod center unit, Debadged and demolded....
Crazy Lou is offline  
#6 Old 01-16-2007, 04:31 PM
xenophex
Member
 
xenophex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 68
Send a message via MSN to xenophex
(Thread Starter)
Thanks, I was just reading about those. I did a compare with the Kicker Sub (stock) vs. the Punch P2 I had with the Power Acoustic AMP.
For the most part the punch deliverd a beefy sub hit and vibration, but its not worth carrying the weight of the amp, and extra sub/box to get it. I didn't have the light dimming issue in the SRT10, but unless I go the route you highlighted I don't think its worth it. Kicker just needs a Hz knob so you can adjust it to where you want as I think its more than capable of pushing what my Punch was.
xenophex is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  Dodge Charger Forums > Dodge Charger Discussion > Audio - Alarms - Navigation - Electronics

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Dodge Charger Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



User Tag List

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode


Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
broke antenna wire bcubed Interior Discussion/Modifications 3 01-14-2010 05:59 PM
ignition wire help s_dyme Interior Discussion/Modifications 0 10-17-2006 06:33 PM
V6 t stat,plug wires,etc!!!!!!!! slvrbullet V6 Specific Discussion 3 04-19-2006 01:32 AM
Running wires through the firewall?? LTZROK General Charger Discussion 6 03-15-2006 03:59 PM
Driving by wire!! Go ManGo! Off-Topic 15 12-23-2005 12:49 PM

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome