Charger Forums banner

Can I install my own catch can?

4K views 15 replies 12 participants last post by  Cpl_Hudson 
#1 ·
Just wondering about installing a catch can. It is going to be my next mod. Question is, is this something that I can install myself. I have limited mechanical knowledge. Which means, I have none. :) Can a self taught handyman like myself install it. I'm up for the challenge. In addition, what pieces other than the Billet Tech catch can do I need to order to do the install?

Additionally, what does installing a catch can mean as far as oil changes and daily maintenance?

#6 ·
much dumber people than you install them everyday :grin:

#8 ·
Very easy, all parts come with it. I ordered the standard bracket (no cost option) which is just a threaded tube that screws onto a very prominent bolt. You can dress it up with the optional braided hose but I think standard rubber hose comes with it which would work just fine. You will want to route the hoses as low as possible so they don't prevent you from re-installing the engine cover. If you follow the instructions and only screw it on four turns you wil be fine - I screwed mine on 6 turns at first and it caused interference with the thermostat housing. Good luck!

#9 ·
Toss an instant pizza in the oven before you start and you'll have a snack when you're done. Actually you'll probably need to wait for it to finish and cool off. Oh well. It's still pizza. :hungry:

#11 ·
It's so easy even he can do it:

#13 ·
I'm a ase certified master tech.
I had to have the kid down the street install mine

#14 ·
Zombie thread...

Where the hell do I put it? The pictures that came with the BT Catch Can reference the 6.1. I have no idea which hoses it's talking about.

The "How Do I Everything" thread references 3.5 and 6.1.... I haven't found any 5.7 write ups with photos.... Any help?

#15 · (Edited)