0-150 15.8 seconds

C6 ZR1:

0-60 3.4 seconds

0-100 7.6 seconds

0-150 16.4 seconds

Full article including pdf reports

See less See more
#5 ·
The proof of what I am saying is in the MT Dyno test.

"According to K&N's dyno results, the Challenger SRT Hellcat puts down 635 hp and 591 lb-ft of torque at the rear wheels. Assuming a 12-percent drivetrain loss (automatics are getting more efficient each year), that means this Hellcat puts out about 722 hp at the crank."

This is within the range of the SAE testing requirements and not an under-rating by the Factory.

Attachments

#10 ·
ZR1

lbs/HP - 5.25
lbs/torq - 5.55
0-160 - 22.8

Charger Hellcat

lbs/HP - 6.50
lbs/Tor - 7.06
0-160 - 19.2

The 8 speed auto is probably more efficient than a 6 speed manual but that is a HUGE difference to make up.

Is it possible that the C&D test car was a ringer?

#13 ·
Yep, supercars of the 80's are tame by today's standards. I've been saying for the last 10 years, and continue to say, that today is the "good old days" for muscle cars! They are way faster, way easier to drive, and you get in, turn the key, and go. You don't have much maintenance any more; how many kids today could change a set of points? I, for one, would rather be driving than working on the car.

#15 ·
Great graph

But at over 150mph aerodynamic drag increases exponentially right?

So how did Dodge make the Charger more slippery than the Vette?

wow

#16 ·
Slippery and performance at high speed are 2 different things. The Vette chose more down force to improve handling and keep it glued to the road (more like an Indy car) while the Hellcat chose less to make it more like a NASCAR. The Vette actually has a greater coefficient of drag than the Hellcat by choice.

The Vette builds tremendous down force which makes the car heavier as it goes faster. The Hellcat has less to help it's massive profile and weight cut through the air resistance and still keep it on the road.