Charger Forums banner

New owner of a Charger (Police edition)

7K views 16 replies 14 participants last post by  CE9311 
#1 · (Edited)
New owner of a Charger Pursuit

Hey all. As my name implies, I am completely new to the car game. Recently I ended up purchasing a 2009 Charger Pursuit. It's definitely not in 'pristine condition,' but it's the first car I've ever owned and I think it's going to be a fun project to restore! Here's my current to-do list:

• Detail/sanitize the interior. Especially the rear seats/floor.
  • Detail the exterior.
  • Clean the engine compartment.
  • Replace brake pad(s).
  • Rims are rusting a little bit. Should I refinish/repaint them?
  • Sew the rip in the driver's seat.
  • Add a center console (these are the only two I've found so far: Option 1 and Option 2). Are there any other options or is it pretty limited?
  • Paint the top "brilliant black" to match the rest of the car. I haven't decided whether or not to pay someone else to do it, or to do it myself. There are also scratches and a few dings in the body I'd like to have fixed, I think it's going to be more extensive than using a touch-up pen. The other thing I'm thinking about is whether to just paint the roof (which is white) or to repaint the entire car.
  • Figure out how to reinstall working locks in the rear. Does anyone sell a rear lock kit for an '09? Rear window controls need to be reactivated too.
  • The trunk is very 'industrial' inside, so I was thinking about carpeting it.
  • As far as performance upgrades, I'm not very familiar with them and I don't know where to start. Is there anything cost effective that's relatively simple to enhance?
  • I've heard the police department typically runs 87 octane on these guys, I don't know if that's true or not. Should I be running 87, 91, or does it matter for a stock charger?

Any insight would be greatly appreciated. Thanks guys.:grin2:

Attachments

See less See more
#2 ·