Charger Forums banner

245 vs. 275

36K views 49 replies 23 participants last post by  seanrego68 
#1 ·
A question for those of you who have switched from 245 to 275 tires. What are the differences you have noticed?
I've had some bad experiences with tires as of late and want to hear what others have to say about their choice.

What brand of tires did you switch from/to? How do they handle in different conditions? Was there an effect on the way they felt? MPG difference?

shortfuse

#2 · (Edited)
I have a 2016 Scat Pack with stock rims. I just switched from the stock GY RSA2 245's to Michelin PSAS3+ 255's. The big difference I notice is the noise, or lack thereof. I didn't realize how noisy the GY's were until I got the Michelin's. I haven't noticed any real difference in MPG. Before the snow hit, I noticed more grip when moving from a stop. It also corners a bit better. But all that may just be because of the Pilot Sports. I had 2010 & 2013 Challenger Classic RT's prior to this car. Both came with GY tires and I switched to the stock size Pilot Sports available at the time. The AS3+'s are by far the best switch I've noticed. I thought going to the 275's might be too much for the stock rims.

#3 ·
I switched from factory Goodyear F1 245s to Michelin PSS 255s. There is a night and day difference! The PSS is better in every way and the improvement in wet traction is nothing short of amazing. I get an extra half inch diameter and scrape at the bottom of my driveway less often. In the winter I run Blizzaks.

It is my understanding that 275s will work on the stock SP rims. The PSS is not available in 275 size that would work with my SP otherwise I may have tried it. If you want to go with 275s the Continental Extreme Contact DW would be a good choice, or the DWS 06 if you want to run all seasons.

GTO_04

#4 ·
Stop it. You guys are making want to switch again after convincing me to wear out my stock GY rsa-2 first. LOL

Reactions: GTO_04
#5 ·