Charger Forums banner

What mods are there to do for my 2017 Daytona 392??

27K views 20 replies 7 participants last post by  FST4DR 
#1 ·
Im brand new to the Mopar scene. Former mustang and corvette owner. And from what I have heard/read, these new 392 cars are not very mod friendly. Its not a big deal. My Daytona seems to be very good in every respect. Doesnt need a stall, exhaust sounds awesome, factory CAI and so on. Plus the wheels/tires/brakes are fantastic.

Whats left?? I heard tuning was expensive. Not sure if thats totally true. What about cam, headers, NOS, blowers and so on? What are the common mods that make good power, without costing a ton??

How much is a cam+install on these cars? And is it worth the cost?

What about NOS? Any safe kits out there, with or without tuning needed??

I already have a MT Drag radial going on for the track. I'd like to break deep into the 11's. Any modding guidance I can get would be helpful. Thanks.

#2 ·
I hate to say it but there are no cheap options when it comes to adding power without significant cost, especially considering your goals.

It's a 4400lb. car before you add the driver. With nothing more than a sticky set of street tires and good track prep and DA, you're going to be capable of very low 12s and maybe high 11s.

Getting deep into the 11s is another story.

- PCMs are locked from the factory so the days of hooking up a tuner are gone with MY 2014. Canned tunes will be OK, but dyno tuning will net better results. (visit diablosport.com for more information)
- Cam and head packages will add good power but will be costly if you're not installing yourself. Check out Arrington Performance (shophemi.com) and look at their power trip packages
- Nitrous isn't a common mod for whatever the reason. Speedlogix has a bunch of info on different packages. These will also require tuning (speedlogix.com)