Charger Forums banner

Hating Life; First Ding Today on my 2015 SRT....

5K views 29 replies 19 participants last post by  Ddaddy 
#1 ·
And it's my own fault.

Ran out of propane for my grill last night with food ready to go and too late to go out.

Steaks on deck for tonight so I threw 2 propane tanks in the trunk before I left for work this morning. Got careless and biffed the side of the car.

Can't even tell you how sick to my stomach I am over this.

X-rated pics:

See less See more
#2 ·
Well it could be worse. When I saw the title I was thinking a dent or long scratch. I think that could be fixed fairly easily. But I feel your pain...that's a crappy feeling when that happens.

How do you plan to fix it?

#3 ·
How do you plan to fix it?

Not sure yet.

I have the touch-up pen and clear coat.

But I am a total noob when it comes to this stuff and I'm worried I will make it look worse if I try to do it myself.

I'm going to see if I can get some professional assistance.

This really sucks. :(

#4 ·
Not to minimize the pain you feel, but the good news is that is just a paint chip, not an actual ding (it doesn't look like you bent the metal).

It's an easy fix with a drop of touch up paint and a little rubbing compound with a finish polish. A good pro will make it disappear.

If you lived near me, I'd do it for you and show you how it's done so you could easily do it yourself in the future.

#7 ·
Ddaddy, on the touch up paint do you have to use the compound by hand to be precise or is a DA ok to use for those cases? I bought my car used with about 18000 miles on it, I swear every day I find new touchup paint on it that I missed when buying that the previous owner put on. I hear after the touch paint has been on a while, it is hard to polish it down to match?

#13 ·

Any reputable insurance company would total that car. Better give it to me and get yourself a new one. I'll take the hit for you. That's the kind of guy I am.
LMAO

:slap:

Reactions: POWERMAN
#6 ·