Charger Forums banner

low oil pressure @ idle

10K views 29 replies 23 participants last post by  RitzRT 
#1 ·
I'm new to the dodge group having only owned a new '67. At idle after warmed up, the oil pressure drops to 16-17lbs. I've had high end cars all my life, beemers, audi and miost recently corvettes. My last corvette being a '04 C5 CE. Oil pressure this low has me very concerened. Any help here.
Thanks,
Roger c5

#3 ·
radguy----I get it from the digital readout on the dash. I usually go for a 28 mile sprint across the bay usually cruising at +-80. This morning when I got back the first traffic light i stopped at it went to 14lbs. When I complained to the service department last month they said it was ok. The oil pressure is ok even at 4lbs. b#^&*s Try yours after driving 2 or 3 miles and checking to see if your's reads low like mine.
Thank you,
Roger

#4 ·
I totally agree Roger C!!! I noticed mine yesterday reading the same, 14 -18. That is way to low, all the V-8s I've ever owned always had 28 - 32 at idle and 40+ at cruising. That low oil pressure surely concernes me, and I definately raise the BS flag on the 4lbs of oil pressure.

#5 ·
Ok, so it is from the stock guage. Check it with a good mechanical guage and see what the actual reading is. When I have time I will attach my liquid filled test guage and see.

#6 ·
My AV with its 5.3L V8 runs about 30-40.... and runs up to almost 80 with WOT runs....

my fathers 94 suburban has a 350, and at idle it is down below 20... and will come back up to 40 at cruise...

#7 ·
DAYTONA_R/T said:
My AV with its 5.3L V8 runs about 30-40.... and runs up to almost 80 with WOT runs....

my fathers 94 suburban has a 350, and at idle it is down below 20... and will come back up to 40 at cruise...
Remember that the engine is only using four cyllinders at idle. That may be the reason for the low reading.

#13 ·