DIY guide for hardwiring radar detector [Archive] - Dodge Charger Forums

: DIY guide for hardwiring radar detector


wquiles
02-18-2006, 02:01 PM
First off, let me start by thanking the forum for being a great repository of outstanding information, and specifically to RadarmagneT who in here (http://www.chargerforums.com/forums/showthread.php?t=2541&page=1&pp=10&highlight=radar+detector) pointed out a link to his roof RD power (http://home.nc.rr.com/maneval69/overheadpower/overheadpower.htm), which had enough information to get me started. As RadarmagneT politely asked for additional photos/instructions, I decided to return the favor by doing just that ;)

The installation guide is right here: http://m3coupe.com/Charger/Valentine/V1_Install_v2.doc

and it is 1.1Megs big. It is formated as an MS Word Document, with the pictures within the document.

If there are some questions and/or corrections, please refer to each of the section #'s so that I can correct the document and upload an updated version.

I hope that at least some will find this helpful :)

Will

PS. If you guys think this was a lot of work, let me tell you it was not that bad. This DIY Stereo guide (http://bimmer.roadfly.com/bmw/forums/audio/forum.php?postid=1433274&page=2) that I prepared 3 and 1/2 years ago to replace the complete speaker and amplifier system on my BMW E46 Me Coupe was the most work I have ever done!

Portland06RT
02-21-2006, 07:40 PM
Thanks for the info, this will be one of my many projects to come!! 8)

wquiles
02-22-2006, 09:26 AM
You are very welcomed. Just take your time while doing the install - it is an easy mod ;)

Will

RTjunkie
02-22-2006, 03:20 PM
Nice guide. I might do this at some point. I'm thinking of possibly changing the soldered contacts into another permenant splice with some form of "quick disconnect" so if I ever had to place a new radar up there, I wouldn't have to completely resolder everything. Perhaps a quick-disconnect that screws together and is shielded....would allow for easy replacement of the radar in the future.

wquiles
03-15-2006, 02:27 PM
Nice guide. I might do this at some point. I'm thinking of possibly changing the soldered contacts into another permenant splice with some form of "quick disconnect" so if I ever had to place a new radar up there, I wouldn't have to completely resolder everything. Perhaps a quick-disconnect that screws together and is shielded....would allow for easy replacement of the radar in the future.
Yep, that should work well. Make sure the connectors make a tight contact with each other so that they don't turn loose/apart with shock/vibration while driving (which is why I like soldering in the first place ;) )

Fast4Dr
07-28-2006, 09:21 AM
I just purchased the Valentine 1 and am looking to hardwire it this weekend. Did you have trouble getting everything to fit in the overhead compartment? Also, did you install the consealed display? If so where did you place it?

JRB73IN
07-29-2006, 12:33 PM
I also hardwired my Radar detector, but what I did seemed so much easier. I simply ran a 22/2 wire above the headliner,down inside the pillar cover right into the dash cavity behind the steering wheel and behind the kick panel, pushed under the covers along the floor edge to the back seat up under the seat and trunk carpet to the trunk fuse panel , tied in with the ashtray plug and easy pleasy, took about 45 minutes. you can purchase a plug end to go in your detector for a couple of dollars at radio shack. This required no part removal or soldring a simple plug in on each end. It is definatly better to hardwire in a detector than to have a cord hanging around.

TALON
07-29-2006, 03:14 PM
For $30 bucks i had Circuit City hardwire mine.

Manicmechanic
07-29-2006, 03:41 PM
I am glad to see that at least we mostly all agree that the V1 is an exceptional unit and the hardwire instructions are great. Why didn't you use a flat wire instead of the coiled cable though? The good thing about the V1 and the Escort is the new phone cable power supply wire hook up to ease things. Since my wife has an Escort hardwired into her T/A, I can always unplug it and hook up my V1 when we switch cars.

HKLEVI
07-29-2006, 04:21 PM
Ok I have a couple of quick questions. Does it matter if you have no uconect or home link in your console? Do you have the same power leads for these two options standard if one wanted to add either to the vehicle later as a mod? And finally, if one did add home link, is it contained just in the console or is there more to it some where else?
Sorry to semi hijack the thread, but I thought those commenting on this mod would know best to answer.

wquiles
07-29-2006, 05:00 PM
Nice guide. I might do this at some point. I'm thinking of possibly changing the soldered contacts into another permenant splice with some form of "quick disconnect" so if I ever had to place a new radar up there, I wouldn't have to completely resolder everything. Perhaps a quick-disconnect that screws together and is shielded....would allow for easy replacement of the radar in the future.
Good idea. If/when I sell my car I will leave the coiled cord in place, and buy a new one for the "next" install. Whomever buys my car in the future will be set :cool:


For $30 bucks i had Circuit City hardwire mine.
Excellent price. Although rusty, I am an Electric Engineer, so believe it or not, these type of install are fun for me :D

I am glad to see that at least we mostly all agree that the V1 is an exceptional unit and the hardwire instructions are great. Why didn't you use a flat wire instead of the coiled cable though? The good thing about the V1 and the Escort is the new phone cable power supply wire hook up to ease things. Since my wife has an Escort hardwired into her T/A, I can always unplug it and hook up my V1 when we switch cars.
I used the coiled simply since it was the one I had with the V1 and for me it does not make the install that much complicated, although I agree with you that a flat cable could make for a simpler/neater install.

Ok I have a couple of quick questions. Does it matter if you have no uconect or home link in your console? Do you have the same power leads for these two options standard if one wanted to add either to the vehicle later as a mod? And finally, if one did add home link, is it contained just in the console or is there more to it some where else?
Sorry to semi hijack the thread, but I thought those commenting on this mod would know best to answer.
It should not mater, but I have not looked at the connector/power of a car other than mine. If you do a search and/or follow the links I listed above, you will find that several other people have gotten the switched power from alternate locations.

As to adding the home link, I don't know for sure, but it "looks" like it is self-contained. Search on the LX forums knowledge area to find out more details ;)

Will

HKLEVI
07-30-2006, 11:13 AM
It should not mater, but I have not looked at the connector/power of a car other than mine. If you do a search and/or follow the links I listed above, you will find that several other people have gotten the switched power from alternate locations.

As to adding the home link, I don't know for sure, but it "looks" like it is self-contained. Search on the LX forums knowledge area to find out more details ;)

Will

Thanks for the help, I will try over at LX. I found a replacement top console on ebay that has the sun roof and home link in it for a great price and would really like to change out mine.

Again, thanks for passing on great info to the rest of the group!

steelwheels
01-09-2007, 10:12 PM
Good idea. If/when I sell my car I will leave the coiled cord in place, and buy a new one for the "next" install. Whomever buys my car in the future will be set :cool:



Excellent price. Although rusty, I am an Electric Engineer, so believe it or not, these type of install are fun for me :D


I used the coiled simply since it was the one I had with the V1 and for me it does not make the install that much complicated, although I agree with you that a flat cable could make for a simpler/neater install.


It should not mater, but I have not looked at the connector/power of a car other than mine. If you do a search and/or follow the links I listed above, you will find that several other people have gotten the switched power from alternate locations.

As to adding the home link, I don't know for sure, but it "looks" like it is self-contained. Search on the LX forums knowledge area to find out more details ;)

Will
I have a backup camera monitor that I want to hide in the overhead sunglass holder area. I am planning to use you great guide to wire in the monitor to the same wires you used for the radar detector. Do you think this will work ? Thank for your input !

steelwheels
01-22-2007, 04:00 PM
First off, let me start by thanking the forum for being a great repository of outstanding information, and specifically to RadarmagneT who in here (http://www.chargerforums.com/forums/showthread.php?t=2541&page=1&pp=10&highlight=radar+detector) pointed out a link to his roof RD power (http://home.nc.rr.com/maneval69/overheadpower/overheadpower.htm), which had enough information to get me started. As RadarmagneT politely asked for additional photos/instructions, I decided to return the favor by doing just that ;)

The installation guide is right here: http://m3coupe.com/Charger/Valentine/V1_Install_v2.doc

and it is 1.1Megs big. It is formated as an MS Word Document, with the pictures within the document.

If there are some questions and/or corrections, please refer to each of the section #'s so that I can correct the document and upload an updated version.

I hope that at least some will find this helpful :)

Will

PS. If you guys think this was a lot of work, let me tell you it was not that bad. This DIY Stereo guide (http://bimmer.roadfly.com/bmw/forums/audio/forum.php?postid=1433274&page=2) that I prepared 3 and 1/2 years ago to replace the complete speaker and amplifier system on my BMW E46 Me Coupe was the most work I have ever done!

help ! I'm trying to hardwire a backup monitor using your instructions, but my wires are not the same colors as yours. I see 4 orange wires with vague green, yellow, grey and blue stripes on them. Do you have any ideas on how I could find the hot and ground ? Thanks for any help ! I

NummThumz
05-04-2008, 01:56 AM
After searching for some help on hardwiring my radar detector, I did the install this week.

I tried to do the overhead console first. The pink accessory power wire was easy to find, but there were no spots to easily attach the ground to the body of the car. I could have drilled a hole in the metal above the console or I could have soldered the ground to a ground wire. Both of these options seemed to be a little more than I wanted to do.

Next I turned to the A pillar. I started by looking in the driver's side A pillar, but the accessory power wire wasn't in the driver side pack of wires. I opened the passenger A pillar and found what I was looking for: 1) the pink accessory power wire, and 2) a screw that I could use to attach the ground to the car body. Everything was easy after this.

This was an easy install once I found the right spot to tap into power. It works perfectly and powers off as soon as I open my door after turning the car off.

Thanks to those that posted their methods in this thread. It was a big help.

MightyZuris
05-04-2008, 03:10 AM
Who has the best prices for the V1?

Thanks for any reply.

Bill

Bosshogg
05-04-2008, 01:05 PM
Im ordering mine straight from them.

allstarv8
11-07-2008, 11:02 AM
First off, let me start by thanking the forum for being a great repository of outstanding information, and specifically to RadarmagneT who in here (http://www.chargerforums.com/forums/showthread.php?t=2541&page=1&pp=10&highlight=radar+detector) pointed out a link to his roof RD power (http://home.nc.rr.com/maneval69/overheadpower/overheadpower.htm), which had enough information to get me started. As RadarmagneT politely asked for additional photos/instructions, I decided to return the favor by doing just that ;)

The installation guide is right here: http://m3coupe.com/Charger/Valentine/V1_Install_v2.doc

and it is 1.1Megs big. It is formated as an MS Word Document, with the pictures within the document.

If there are some questions and/or corrections, please refer to each of the section #'s so that I can correct the document and upload an updated version.

I hope that at least some will find this helpful :)

Will

PS. If you guys think this was a lot of work, let me tell you it was not that bad. This DIY Stereo guide (http://bimmer.roadfly.com/bmw/forums/audio/forum.php?postid=1433274&page=2) that I prepared 3 and 1/2 years ago to replace the complete speaker and amplifier system on my BMW E46 Me Coupe was the most work I have ever done!
I did exactly what you had in your intructions and the radar detector works great. It turns off when the lights go off and turns on when they go on. The thing is that I think it is casing a battery draw on my system. I did the way you said, by soldering and everything. I did not think it was it but I removed the radar hardwire and took it into the dealer for service and they found no draw, which leads me to beleive it was the radar. The car, if not started for 2 days, will not starts the next morning because the battery is dead. Anybody ever heard of this? I have a 2008 R/T, maybe the wiring harness for the dome light is different, or the color are diff. I dont know. Any help would be great.

Thanks

jacob_j_p
07-03-2009, 04:20 PM
Hello, I am interested in getting both my gps and radar detector hardwired. Does anyone know if this is going to be too much of a draw to have both of these attached to the overhead accessories wire?

Thanks for any help.