P3400 - Cylinder Deactivation Bank 1 [Archive] - Dodge Charger Forums

: P3400 - Cylinder Deactivation Bank 1

forrestkk
10-05-2007, 09:19 PM
So my Charger just kicked this code. Even though it is under warranty, being that I have my own shop, I of course pulled the DTC. Anyway, no other pending DTCs. I cleared and and will see if it returns, but I am a diesel guy by trade and could use a little help in understanding why a 06' 5.7L would want to turn off a cylinder. My initial guess would be knocking or something, but I was under the impression that generally triggers a timing reduction.

Anyway, any help would be appreciated.

Kevin

forrestkk
10-05-2007, 09:47 PM
Okay, with the help of google I might have found some answers, but would love to hear somebody back it up who knows more that me.

Anyway I was reading at allpar.com and there is an extensive write up on the new Hemi lines. Anyway they mention that in 2004 that the intended on adding a cylinder deactivation for idle or extremely low loads. That sounds like the variable displacement thing that the 300C and Magnum R/T have. Anyway it must not be normal to kick the mil I guess and only on 1 bank. When the light came on I had just finished about a 6 mile 25 MPH drive. I had autosticked to 4th and the engine was holding at 1000 RPM. I took it out of autostick and let the computer work and I felt some accel/decel which I thought was cruise being a little slow at the very low speed, but maybe it was the engine cutting back cylinders. Anyway, any thoughts would be appreciated.

zoomzoom1
10-05-2007, 11:00 PM
MDS does not work in autostick! May have one of the soleinoids(sp) sticking? Just a guess.

magnuman
10-05-2007, 11:05 PM